National Assembly Voted for Imran Khan as the 22nd Prime Minister

National Assembly in Islamabad voted for Imran Khan as the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan to be leader of the house, making him Pakistan’s head of state. He was favored to win Friday’s National Assembly vote, The assembly chose between he and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif, the former chief minister of Punjab and younger brother of former Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.Khan won the July 25 vote, but his party did not gain enough seats for a majority, forcing him to align with other groups to form a coalition government. According to GEO News The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), the third largest party in the House that joined the PML-N and others in an opposition alliance, withdrew its support for Sharif’s candidacy as premier days before the election and abstained from voting. One member of the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI), which contested elections under the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) banner, also abstained from voting for either candidate. Imran the New Prime Minster will take oath of is office on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.